Current Requirements

Cancun Top 100
The Top 100 Cancun Websites

Non US & Canadian Citizens

If you are travelling from anywhere other than the US or Canada then you will need a valid passport that has at least 6 months before it expires from the day of entry into Mexico.

For many countries including most of Europe and Australia a pre arranged visa is not required. On entry you will be issued with a tourist card and have your passport stamped. This is normally valid for 3 months. For some countries, however, it will be necessary for an entry visa to be prearranged. For the list of countries that dont require a pre-arranged visa see the foot of this page.

US Citizens

You will need a passport if you are visiting Mexico by air.

Canadian Citizens

Proof of citizenship and photo ID. Proof of citizenship includes original birth certificate, citizenship card (naturalization certificate) or a notarized affidavit of citizenship (a statement under oath before a notary public, commissioner of oaths or lawyer identifying oneself with another document, stating date and place of birth, and reason for not having an updated passport or original birth certificate).

Acceptable photo ID includes driver's license or health card with photo.

People born in Quebec must present a birth certificate issued after January 1, 1994, by Le Directeur de l'etat civil in the Province of Quebec. Please note that according to a provincial measure announced on October 24, 2001, baptismal and birth certificates issued by Quebec religious, municipal or judicial authorities prior to 1994, are not considered proof of citizenship.

Countries requiring a pre-arranged Visa

If your country is not on the list below then you should seek advice on obtaining a Visa before you travel:

Andorra, Argentina, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Belize, Bermudas, Brazil, Canada, Costa Rica, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Liechtenstein, Luxemburg, Monaco, Norway, New Zealand, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela, Serbia & Montenegro